Our Philosophy

Buddhist Foundations

Restful Waters is guided by a Buddhist way of life. The ancient teachings of the Buddha have been distilled and offer a practical basis for a way of life that is focused on freedom and love.  The teachings point us to observing ‘the way things are’, where no one is asked to believe anything, but instead to examine their own mind to see what’s true or not and remove any obstacles that may be in the way of happiness.

The Three Universal Truths, the Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path sum up these teachings, which together are known as the Dharma.

Three Universal Truths

1. Everything is impermanent and changing

2. Impermanence leads to suffering, making life imperfect

3. The Self is not personal and unchanging

A traditional Buddhist statue of Gautama, The Buddha. Centre Philosophy

The Buddhist Four Noble Truths

The First Noble Truth:
Life is dissatisfying

The Second Noble Truth:
The cause of this dissatisfaction is our desires and attachments

The Third Noble Truth:
There can be an end to this dissatisfaction

The Fourth Noble Truth:
The path to freedom, or liberation. This is taught as The Eight Fold Path which is the prescription for enlightenment

The Buddhist Eight Fold Path

The Eightfold Path describes the way to end dissatisfaction and wake up to the true nature of being. This path was laid out by Siddhartha Gautama after his awakening around 550 BCE.

It is a practical guideline to ethical and mental development with the goal of freeing the individual from attachments and delusions, ultimately leading to living the truth. Together with the Four Noble Truths this constitutes the foundation of Buddhism. Great emphasis is put on the practical aspect because it is only through practice that one can attain a higher level of existence. The eight aspects of the path are not to be understood as a sequence of single steps, instead, they are highly interdependent principles that have to be seen in relationship with each other.

1. Right View
2. Right Thought
3. Right Speech
4. Right Action

5. Right Livelihood
6. Right Effort
7. Right Mindfulness
8. Right Concentration

Restful Living

The art of ‘Restful Living’ is realised through learning how to let go and see through the beliefs that create resistance in life. In today’s society, the focus on wealth, gain and achievement leads to stress, anxiety and ill health. Many people feel isolated and dissatisfied, even when they reach their goals in the material world.

To practice letting go of the noisy mind and come back to a place of deep rest is the answer. Deep rest allows for healing and a sense of well-being.

At Restful Waters our interest is in a way of living, it’s what we call the way of the heart, which is the essence of Buddhism.


Our vision will impact the local and larger community by assisting individuals to be happier, healthier and more consciously aware within themselves. We will support people to create a balanced, connected and fulfilled life.


Restful Waters Meditation Centre is guided by Buddhist principles, which teach us to live the way of the heart, in compassionate service to others. Restful Waters provides a sanctuary to deepen awareness and increase clarity through meditation and mindfulness programs, yoga and counselling services. Our centre offers the opportunity to discover and develop skillful means to enhance wellbeing, relationships and learn the art of being restful.

The Sixteen Vishrant Buddhist Society Precepts

The Vishrant Buddhist Society Precepts are a fundamental part of Restful Waters philosophy. They help create a safe and supportive environment for all. It is each person’s responsibility to embrace and honour these sixteen precepts.

The Three Treasures

1. I take refuge in the Buddha

2. I take refuge in the Dharma

3. I take refuge in the Sangha

The Three Pure Precepts

1. Not creating evil

2. Practicing good

3. Actualising good for others

The Ten Living Precepts

1. Affirm life; Not to be involved in killing

2. Be giving; Not to be involved in stealing

3. Honour the body; Not to misuse sexuality

4. Manifest truth; Not to be involved in lying

5. Proceed clearly; Not to cloud the mind with drugs or alcohol

6. See the perfection; Not to speak of others errors or faults with  the intention of hurting them or their reputation

7. Realize self and other as one; Not to elevate the self above others

8. Give generously; Not to be withholding, to become a giver

9. Actualise harmony; Not to support anger in yourself or others

10. To be honourable; Not to betray the Three Treasures